SAVN’s Trouble With The Truth

There are many things that go on behind the scenes here at the AVN in regards to the attacks against our organisation and me personally which I don’t share or discuss with anyone outside of our committee. I am an inherently positive person and I don’t like to dwell on negativity or anger and Stop the AVN (SAVN), by its very nature, is both negative and angry all the time. In addition, there are many more important things I need to spend my time on so I choose to just go with the flow and ignore the ‘opposition’ as much as I can.

Something has come up in the last few days however which I felt I would like to share with you all. It has been a bit confusing and more than a little bit silly, but it is also indicative of how some individuals in this group can behave in a very immature manner when dealing with information and individuals they disagree with. The question being asked of me is – “Was I ever a stockbroker?” The question I ask in return is, “Why should SAVN care?”

One of the ‘movers and shakers’ of SAVN is a man by the name of Ken McLeod. He  has a long history of filing vexatious complaints against the AVN with government organisations, media outlets and anyone else he can possibly think of.

Over the last 2 years, McLeod has penned a 3-part series called Meryl Dorey’s Trouble with the Truth in which he lists all of the alleged lies I have told and why he considers them to be lies. For the most part, the ‘lies’ are simply statements I have made about vaccination or health that he disagrees with. This is because, to McLeod, those who say things he disagrees with must be lying. In his world, there are no shades of grey – everything he believes is white – everything he disagrees with are dirty black lies.

Ken McLeod has a daily tweet, sometimes more than 1 – sometimes 5 or 10 – called ‘Today’s lie from Meryl Dorey:’ In 140 characters or less, he takes something I’ve said and calls it a lie. That’s it. No proof – not even any sense. For instance, here are some of my alleged lies from the last week:

Today’s lie from Meryl Dorey: she’s “trying to amend legislation to support informed vaccination” (I’m assuming he ran out of room to put the word ‘choice’ at the end).

Today[‘]s Meryl Dorey lie: “majority getting whooping cough are fully vaccinated” This information came directly from the Department of Health and you can read it by clicking here.

Today[‘]s lie from Meryl Dorey: health authorities around the world trying to destroy an ethical doctor. This was in response to a blog post I had written supporting Dr Andrew Wakefield. Again, McLeod disagrees with this therefore, he calls it a lie.

The Great Share market Caper

One of the most striking examples of McLeod’s attempts to paint me a liar involves my previous history on Wall Street. There is one thing that I have heard him say over and over again during this period that would make me laugh at its ridiculousness. If it weren’t so defamatory and just plain wrong, it could almost be funny.

You see, Ken McLeod, a man who does not know me at all, a person I have never met or spoken with, has told everyone who will listen to his rantings, that I lied when I said I was a stockbroker on Wall Street.

His evidence for this alleged lie?

Well, he went to the FINRA Brokercheck website and searched for what he thought was my maiden name – Sokolovsky – and couldn’t find me there so he concluded I was lying.

Oh, he did try to write to me first to ask if I had been a stockbroker, but I did not respond so there was proof positive that I was lying, as far as he was concerned! (Please see email below)

From: “Ken McLeod” <email address removed as a courtesy>

Subject: WALL ST STOCKBROKER

Date: 27 March 2011 7:58:57 PM AEDT

To: “Meryl Dorey” <meryl@avn.org.au>

Dear Mrs. Dorey

In the Lismore Northern Star Weekend edition, September 18 2010, page 39, you describe your “career as a Wall Street broker that ended with the loss of her job in the 1987 stock market crash.”  I checked with  the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA), the independent regulator for all securities firms doing business in the United States.  They have no record of you having held a stockbroker’s licence, in your maiden name Sokolovsky.

FINRA have also informed me that a stockbroker is required to pass the FINRA  General Securities Representative Exam, (commonly referred to as the Series 7 Exam), to become a Registered Representative of a broker-dealer in the United States.  Would you mind informing me if you sat for that exam and the result please.

I would appreciate you providing me with any documentary evidence supporting your claim to have been a stockbroker, more properly called a “Securities Representative” in the USA.

yours sincerely

Ken McLeod

There are several problems with both his methods and conclusions:

1-        I do not respond to any emails from McLeod. In fact, I have told him this in the past and asked him to stop emailing me. He has refused to do so and I consider this to be harassment.

2-        The name Sokolovsky, though it was my father’s last name, was not mine. McLeod probably got the name from my father’s obituary because it lists me as one of my father’s daughters (Meryl Dorey of Australia), but I was born Meryl Sokole. My mother had shortened the name before I was born but they had never legally changed it so my dad was Sokolovsky and my sisters and I were Sokole.

3-        The FINRA Brokercheck website which McLeod used to deduce that I was lying about being a licensed stockbroker, specifically states that it will only provide information on brokers who were registered within the previous 10 years. I have been in Australia for 23 years. I lost my job in the 1987 crash and my registration expired 2 years after I left Wall Street – in 1989. So FINRA would not have provided any information on my registration status after 1999 – 13 years ago.

What has made me bring this up now?

Well, about two weeks ago, one of my friends jokingly put a note up on Twitter saying that the reason they couldn’t find any record of me on Wall Street was because they had the wrong last name. She said that if the research SAVN did on vaccination were as poor as the research they did on me, it’s no wonder they got everything wrong all the time!

The consternation was palpable. At first, they thought she was lying but when she persisted, the search was on! Finally, after about 3 days of relentless Googling, one of them came up with the right name. Instead of admitting they had been wrong and apologising or even being sheepish, they immediately said all of this was my fault because I hadn’t responded to Ken McLeod when he’d first asked me. As if I owe him an answer! Their sense of entitlement seems to be bottomless.

I thought that was all and the issue was settled, but 2 days ago, I started to get a slow but steady stream of emails. Please read below:

From: “Ken McLeod” <email address removed as a courtesy>

Subject: WALL ST STOCKBROKER

Date: 7 February 2012 7:27:17 AM AEDT

To: “Meryl Dorey” <meryl@avn.org.au>

Good morning Meryl

have you ever told anyone that you were a Wall St stockbroker?

regards

Ken

From: “Phil Kent” <email address removed as a courtesy>

Subject: fact check

Date: 7 February 2012 8:06:08 AM AEDT

To: <meryl@avn.org.au>

Good morning Meryl,

I would like to check something with you. I have heard that you were once a Wall St stockbroker. Is this true? Did you work on Wall St in any capacity; or as a stock broker elsewhere?

Thankyou for your time.

Regards,

Phil Kent.

From: Linda Hilton <email address removed as a courtesy>

Subject: A Question

Date: 7 February 2012 11:49:50 AM AEDT

To: Meryl Dorey <meryl@avn.org.au>

Good Morning Meryl

I would just like to trouble you with a quick question if I may.  Have you ever told anybody that you were once a Wall Street Stockbroker?

I appreciate your time.

Regards

Linda Hilton

From: Lola Thompson <email address removed as a courtesy>

Date: 9 February 2012 9:40:12 AM AEDT

To: “meryl@avn.org.au” <meryl@avn.org.au>

Reply-To: Lola Thompson <email address removed as a courtesy>

Meryl, I’m curious.

Did you ever tell anyone you were a Wall Street stockbroker?

From: Heidi White <email address removed as a courtesy>

Subject: Concerning rumors

Date: 9 February 2012 9:55:39 AM AEDT

To: meryl@avn.org.au

Dear Ms Dorey,

I am emailing you with concerns I have about some rumors doing the rounds. The claim is that you were once a wall street stockbroker. Have you ever told anyone you used to be a stockbroker? I know you’ve mentioned living in New York, so is this claim could indeed be fact. What would be concerning is if this has been fabricated. I know we disagree on a number of health issues, but this doesn’t mean I shouldn’t be concerned with gossip which is potentially mis-representing you. Do you know where these whispers could have come from?

With regards

Heidi White

I don’t know any of these people personally and have never corresponded with any of them. In fact, I have never even heard of Lola Thompson! Yet, as you can see, all of these letters are very similar.

For those who care, I obtained my Series 7 Stockbroking license in late 1978 – early 1979 (I don’t remember exactly, but it was Winter). A year later, I sat for and passed the Series 63 ‘Blue Sky’ license as well. I started on Wall Street as a receptionist at a brokerage firm where I worked whilst attending College at night. From there, I moved to listed sales (shares that traded on the New York and American Stock Exchanges) and eventually, to the Over the Counter (OTC) trading desk at 2 firms where I worked until the market crashed in 1987 when I and tens of thousands of other brokers and traders were thrown out of work.

I came to Australia in 1988 with my new husband and my licenses expired in 1989.

As a courtesy to those who wrote to me (please see emails above), I am removing the email addresses from this blog post. Perhaps SAVN would consider giving AVN supporters the same courtesy.

This entry was posted in Accountability, AVN, Medical Bully-Boys and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to SAVN’s Trouble With The Truth

  1. Jeggo says:

    Did any of these poster take the time to actually read the document? This article is an echo chamber of stupidity. Meryl states above that the articles are mostly a disagreement with the notion of anti-vaccination. If you take the time to actually read the article you will see it is quit the opposite. They systematically point out times where Meryl has misrepresented herself using her own quotes.

    Have any of you every considered that all your criticism of close mindedness by the scientific community could very easily be reflected back onto yourselves?

  2. Perhaps I missed something; but what does you having been a stockbroker 20-odd years ago have to do with ANYTHING regarding vaccines? What are they trying to get at with this??

    • You haven’t missed a thing. Because Stop the AVN and the Australian Skeptics cannot argue with our information on vaccination, they chose to attack me personally and the AVN as a way of stopping us from speaking out on this issue. Part of that attack (and it’s only one part), is to paint me as a liar and that job has fallen to Ken McLeod – the same SAVN member who has filed literally dozens of complaints against me and the organisation. They obviously thought that if they could brand me a liar by simply saying that everything I said was a lie, then people would stop listening (never once thinking that there are hundreds of other websites and organisations saying the same thing all over the world – DUH!) Anyway, this alleged lie about my having been a stockbroker was one of their main ones so I chose to refute it – it has nothing whatsoever to do with vaccines. It has a lot to do with the tactics used by the organisations – Stop the AVN (SAVN) and the Australian Skeptics. They oppose freedom of speech, freedom of choice and many of them spend so much time in that opposition, one has to wonder whether they are getting paid to do this and by whom?

  3. Christine says:

    Meryl. He sounds like a real joke he is harassing and bullying you I would have him up on charges

  4. E Juian says:

    oh boy some people really need to get a life!
    We need people and groups such as the AVN – I’m due to have a baby any day (no.4) and anytime I have ‘issues’ my other children or this ones immunisation status, it is your blogs and articles that reassure me that I am an informed adult who is willing to fight for my right to choose.

  5. Sil says:

    I find it incredibly sad that there are people dying in the streets of Syria at the moment and many other atrocities and truly serious problems are being played out the world over and yet these mindless idiots find it acceptable to use their collective time and energy to harrass a fellow human being over something that is way in the past and none of their business. If only they would choose to use their gifts for good instead of evil………… Ken, Phil, Linda, Lola and Heidi – you should all be ashamed of yourselves and your pathetic antics.

  6. Dusty says:

    What incredibly childish behaviour.One can only feel sorry for such pathetic individuals and encourage them to find more productive ways to spend their time!

    The attack has obviously become very personal and there does seem to be an element of sexism involved. Maybe I’m being too sensitive but that’s my overwhelming impression.

    • I agree with you 100%, Dusty! Thanks for your comment.

    • I have a policy of not responding to abusive people who distort and twist everything I say and do. After almost 2 years of this demonstrable false accusation that I was a liar about my career history, I chose to set the record straight. I never expected an apology though I was surprised to see that SAVN has somehow managed to rationalise their deceit and try to make it sound like this was all my fault.

      Even after I’d explained my work history, I was astonished to receive the following email from Peter Bowditch, a self-professed ratbag and one of the movers and shakers at SAVN:

      Dear Ms Dorey,

      You could clear this matter up very quickly.

      Were you ever a stockbroker on Wall Street, and if so, when did you pass
      the Series 7 Exam and which firm did you work for?

      I’m sure that, like me, you would like the truth about this to become
      public knowledge so that accusations against you can be put to rest.

      Thank you.

      I’d already spelled it out! This has shown me again that trying to communicate or reason with fanatics is a complete waste of time.

  7. Sian Morton says:

    I am sure the courtesy of removing the email addresses above is appreciated. Could you let me know of any situation where a similar discourtesy to AVN supporters exists on the SAVN page (we do not have a blog) and I will address it immediately? At the present time I have been unable to find any such problems with exposing private email addresses or contact details, so I would appreciate some direction.

    Kind regards,

    Sian Morton

    • Did you ever see this page, Sian – http://www.antivaxxers.com/?p=3792 – Have a look. It is instructive.
      This website also listed my husband’s business details as well of those of his family.
      So before you get all ‘holier then thou’ how about looking a bit closer to home for the sort of disgusting tactics of the people you deal with and support every day.

      • Sian Morton says:

        Meryl,

        As I mentioned in my post above, the SAVN does not have a blog and the link you provided is nothing to do with the SAVN.

        As you point out, it is inappropriate for me to get all ‘holier than thou’, but I am sure a few supernatural powers wouldn’t go astray if you expect me to control the words and actions of everyone who feels disgrees with, or feels angry and frustrated by, the abundance of anti-vaccination misinformation spread by the AVN and its members.

        Kind regards,

        Sian Morton

      • Nice try, Sian – but Christine Bayne is a long-time members of Stop the AVN and has been very active on SAVN ’causes’. You cannot absolve yourself or SAVN or responsibility for her actions or those of Bowditch and others. Do you really want to associate with these people?

      • Sian Morton says:

        The SAVN does not have members, and it is not an organisation. It is a very loose association of extremely diverse people with different views on a range of issues coming together on a social network. The one thing we all have in common is our wish to see the misleadingly named Australian Vaccination Network stop spreading misinformation about vaccination.

        Christine and Peter are just two of the many people who comment on the SAVN page and, as you are clearly aware, they also discuss vaccination issues and the SAVN in other forums.

        We all have our individual approaches to addressing this issue, and while some of us may indulge in more courteous discourse that others, our goal remains the same.

      • Lovely Sian – so on the one hand, you say – show me where SAVN has said this and I will make sure it is taken down. I show you where SAVN has said this and you come back and say – SAVN is not responsible because it’s not an organisation (of course, I have many screen shots of where you and others have called it an organisation or an association) so don’t hold us responsible. Again I say – you should be ashamed for associating with those abusive, vile individuals who are responsible for these actions. By choosing to continue to associate with them, you are making yourself as responsible as they are. Do you feel proud of that fact?

    • Dusty says:

      Sian, please just acknowledge that the tactics employed by some ‘members’ of SAVN are downright disgraceful.You cannot possibly excuse such behaviour.

      You present as a courteous respectful individual and obviously the ‘nice’ face of SAVN but you just can’t seem to actually utter any words of condemnation.

      If you stop skirting around the issue and say what they are doing is wrong you will feel a lot better.

      • Absolutely, Dusty. Not only will she no-doubt feel a lot better, but we will all have a greater respect for what she says, knowing that she is a strong enough and honest enough person to admit that she does not support SAVN’s abusive side.

      • Sian Morton says:

        Thanks, Dusty, but I feel perfectly fine.

        Many of the people associated with the SAVN have been involved for far longer than I have and, by all accounts, have very good reasons for their strong and passionate views.

        There have been times when I have felt that posts on the SAVN page have been inappropriate or offensive, and I have occasionally advised the author of my views, either on the thread below or by private message. For example, last year I acted in precisely this manner in response to a nasty comment wishing a VPD on Meryl, only to have the action mocked on the AVN page as insincere and faked. Meh.

        People on the SAVN page are not always polite and courteous but the biggest mistake by AVN supporters is to mistake courtesy for credibility.

        In an ideal world we would all be sweet and lovely to each other. And in an ideal world vaccines would be 100% safe and 100% effective. Sadly, the world is not perfect but I strongly believe that vaccination is, on balance, a public health measure for the greater good of the community.

      • You’re right Sian – their reason for being involved is a hatred of anyone who believes differently to them and a fear of disease that is both illogical and psychotic. These people are not motivated by caring or concern for health – they are simply out there to stop someone else from making a decision they don’t approve of and they will use any methods they want because that’s the sort of people they are. Why are you involved with this hate group, Sian?

  8. punter says:

    Well I hope for your sake it was a Series 7 Stockbroking licence Meryl. Because if it were only Series 6 then that would be proof positive that all vaccinations are safe and effective and everything you say about them is a lie.

  9. Jess says:

    Meryl,

    Every day you inspire me.

    Your courage and determination, despite the ongoing abuse, just blows me away.

    Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

    Long live the AVN!

    x

Leave a comment